How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Texas

What Are The Basic Requirements?

If you're considering starting a real estate career in the state of Texas, you will need to earn a Texas real estate license.To earn your real estate license in Texas, you must:

  • be a citizen of the United States
  • be at least 18 years of age
  • be a resident of Texas
  • complete 180 hours of approved education
  • obtain a sponsoring broker
  • submit required fees and forms to Texas Real Estate Commission
  • submit to fingerprinting, and pass the state exam.

If you are either an active agent or wanting to become one we would love an opportunity to speak with you. We are very selective on who we hire to join our brokerage, but if you have high integrity and a strong work eithic you might be a great fit.

What Are The Steps To Getting Your License?

Here are the actual steps to follow in order. Each person will complete them at a different pace. The important thing is to worry about yourself and not others. Don't give up, stay commited and get it done.

  1. Submit your application to the Texas Real Estate Commision (TREC)
  2. Submit your fingerprints to TREC
  3. Take and complete your classes, Texas requires 180 hours
  4. Study for the state and national exams
  5. Take both exams and pass them within a year
  6. Find a sponsoring broker

What Courses Do You Take In Real Estate School?

  • Principles of Real Estate I - 30 hours
  • Principles of Real Estate II - 30 hours
  • Real Estate Finance - 30 hours
  • Law of Contracts - 30 hours
  • Promulgated Contracts - 30 hours
  • Law of Agency - 30 hours

How Long Does It Take To Get Your License?

Everyone works at a different pace and so there is no true average, but many agents get their license in four to six months. TREC does require you finish all activities within one year of submitting your application, but this is plenty of time.

Just examine your life and make sure you have the time needed to attend class (or view online), study for the exams and take the tests.

How Much Does It Cost To Get Your License?

There are two areas that will cost you money, the state licensing fees and your education. The state fees are right around $250 if you only take the test one time.

Your education cost can vary greatly depending on who you choose to use. We recommend Champions School of Real Estate. Their in person classes are ususally top notch and you learn much more than the on-line classes. Your classes can cost from $500 to $2,000.

Is It Hard To Get Your License?

This is a tricky question, since every person is unique and has different learning abilities. In general, no it is not hard to get your license. It can be a challenge for some people, so be sure to give yourself plenty of time to get the work done.

Getting your real estate license can be the start of a rewarding career, but it takes work. The licensing process is just the beginning of the hard work. Success in any field does not come easy, so don't be decived by people telling you it a fast road to riches. Its not...

What Are The Different Ways To Take Classes?

Champions offers tons of education options from a Zoom like environment, on-line or in person classes. We list them below:

  • Classroom
  • Blended Classroom
  • Online-Correspondence
  • Champion Live
  • Correspondence
  • Online

Will My College Degree Count Toward The Required Courses?

In many cases, yes they will. You will need to submit your college records to TREC for evaluation for your specific case.

How to become a Texas real estate agent

Want to chat about it?

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Post a Comment